If you have created asynchronous video lectures for a particular course, and they are uploaded and saved onto GauchoCast, you have the opportunity to reuse those sessions for subsequent quarters. This will save you the time and effort of recreating videos you've previously recorded for a different class or quarter. As long as your existing sessions are saved in a GauchoCast folder, you'll be able to either COPY or MOVE them into a newly provisioned course folder.
Provisioning the GauchoCast Block in your New Course Site
Whether you are teaching a new course, or the same course but in a different quarter, you will first need to provision a GauchoCast folder for the new course in GauchoSpace by Adding the GauchoCast Block. This must be done for all new GauchoSpace courses.
Student viewing permissions for GauchoCast folders are associated with the corresponding GauchoSpace course site. As a result, you cannot paste links to videos stored in a previous GauchoCast course folder (unless you've relaxed the default folder sharing settings).
Copying vs. Moving Sessions
Once the new GauchoCast course folder is provisioned, users will have two options for transferring videos from a previous course folder into a current one. You may either COPY or MOVE sessions. Both functions will effectively accomplish the same task. However, there are some slight technical differences between the two options. Depending on your preferred method of Publishing Videos from GauchoCast to GauchoSpace, there may be a suggested option for you to use:
- If your students access the videos through the GauchoCast Block: Either copying or moving the videos will work without issue. Any video that is saved to the associated course folder on GauchoCast will appear under the "Completed Recordings" section of the GauchoCast Block. This is true whether you copy, move, upload, or record a new video into the course folder. As long as sessions are saved inside the provisioned folder, they will automatically appear within the GauchoCast Block.
- If your students access the videos through direct URL links on your GauchoSpace site: Copying the videos may cause access issues, because the direct URL links of videos that you import from your previous GauchoSpace site will be directing students to videos that are stored in your old GauchoCast course folder (and they will not have permissions to view them). Even though copied videos retain the same exact title, content, and session data, the original version and any copied versions are digitally distinct and will each have a unique URL. In this case, users should opt to "MOVE" their videos instead of "COPY" them. When moving a video into a new GauchoCast folder, the direct link to the video will remain unchanged, regardless of the new location it is placed in. Video links are an inherent property of the videos themselves and not necessarily based on the folder location it is saved in. Therefore, once you've moved the videos into the new GauchoCast course folder, the imported URL video links (on GauchoSpace) will direct students to the correct GauchoCast folder and students will have permission to view the videos. Note: this also means the videos will no longer be found in the previous course folder nor will they be available to the students from the previous course.
For step-by-step instructions on how to copy or move your existing sessions, please refer to our Help Guide, GauchoCast: Transferring Videos within GauchoCast.
For additional assistance, write to us at email@example.com