When inviting another UCSB user to collaborate on Box, search using their first and last name.
If they do not show as an option, contact them to ensure they have logged into Box before. Logging in creates your account.
Box identifies UCSB users using UCSBNetID@ucsb.edu, but notification emails will be delivered to the user's primary UCSB account, whether that be a departmental or U-Mail address.
In Box, you can 'share' in two different ways: use shared links and invite collaborators.
- People with the link: Anyone with the link can access and no Box account is required. For extra security, you can also set a password or expiration for the link, as well as restrict download and/or preview access for link viewers.
- People in your company: People with the link AND who are logged into their Connect Box account will be able to access content via the shared link. You can set an expiration date and restrict download and/or preview access for link viewers.
- People in this folder: Only users who have been invited to the folder can access the content in the folder. Note: Collaborators already have access to their content, but can easily direct one another to a specific file or folder using the shared link.
- Remove: This option removes and deletes the shared link assigned to that file or folder so it can no longer be accessed, even if someone has the old link