Agent Login / Logout

Blocks in Moodle: A Guide

Overview

GauchoSpace course sites are organized into blocks.  Blocks contain specific information about your course.    

Block Basics

Blocks contain specific information about your course:  The main blocks in the middle of the page provide an outline of your course either by weeks or course topics.  Blocks to the right of the main blocks compartmentalize important course functions such as Peachmail (send an email to all students at once), a Calendar, or Recent Activity that shows contributions from students.  

Each Block has the same editing features: add, move, hide, or delete blocks.

The most important block for instructors is the Administration block. This block connects instructors to the course settings (Edit Settings), participants and course roles (Users ->Enrolled Users), and grades (Gradebook Setup).

 

List of Blocks:

Activities*+

Add a Block*

Administration*+

Blog Menu

Calendar

Comments

Course Completion Status

Course/Site Summary

Courses

GauchoCast

HTML

i>Clicker

Latest News*

Navigation*+

Peachmail*

People

Photo

Potholes

Random Glossary Entry

Recent Activity

Recent Blog Entries

Remote RSS Feeds

Search Forums

Section Links

Self Completion

Trending Now

UCSB Course Tool*+

Upcoming Events

WeBWorK Link

 

 *These blocks are present by default on all new course sites.

+These blocks may not be removed.

How do I add a new block?

To add a block to your course, use the following instructions:

  1. Log in to GauchoSpace and enter your course site.
  2. Click Turn editing on.
  3. Scroll down to find the "Add a Block" block on the lower left side of the browser window.
  4. Click the Add... drop-down menu.
  5. Select the block you would like to add to your course site.
  6. The new block will appear on your course page.

 

How do I delete a block?

Note: These Instructions apply only to Instructors on course sites, or on your My Courses page.

  1. Log in to GauchoSpace and enter your course site.
  2. Click Turn editing on.
  3. Locate the block you would like to delete.
  4. Click the gear icon to reveal a drop-down menu.
  5. Click Delete [name of block] block.
  6. Click Yes.

The selected block will now be deleted. If you would like to add the block immediately back to your site, refresh your browser page and then locate the block name from the Blocks drop down menu on the bottom right of the page.

Also, note that not all blocks can be deleted (e.g., the Administration Block). You can hide them by clicking the square box in the upper right corner of the selected block.

If you need to restore deleted activities or resources you will need to access your recycle bin.

 

 

 

How do I move a block?

To move a block in your course, use the following instructions.

  1. Log in to GauchoSpace and enter your course site.
  2. Click Turn Editing On.
  3. Locate the block you would like to move.
  4. Drag and Drop method: Find the move icon in the block you would like to move, click and hold the icon, then drag the block to where you would like it.
  5. Location Menu method: Click on the move icon once and a location menu will appear. In this menu, click on the name of the block that is currently in the location you would like your block to appear.

 

 

Powered by Zendesk